Executive Members

  • The Executive consists of the Leader (a Councillor appointed annually by the Council) and 4 other Councillors (also appointed annually by Council).
  • Each Executive Member is given a Portfolio which relates to a departmental function although there are some ‘cross-cutting’ areas.  The Executive Member should provide political leadership in the portfolio and provide political direction to policy development within the portfolio;
  • The Portfolios are echoed by a Scrutiny Committee. The Executive Member is not a Member of that Committee, but can participate by invitation only.  The purpose of an Executive attending Scrutiny is to be questioned by the Committee on specific items on the agenda.  The Executive Member is not in attendance to ask questions of the officers.
  • The business of the Executive is published in a forward work programme which is linked to the priorities of the Council and items in the Scrutiny Forward Work Programmes. 

Executive Committee 2019 -2020

Leader / Executive Member - Corporate Services                                   

Councillor N. J. Daniels

Deputy Leader/Executive Member – Environment                                   

Councillor G. Collier

Executive Member -  Regeneration & Economic Development                

Councillor D. Davies

Executive Member – Social Services                                                          

Councillor J. Mason

Executive  Member –    Education                                                             

Councillor J. Collins