Borough, Town & Community Councils

Community and town councils are the grassroots level of local governance in Wales.

There are over 730 community and town councils throughout Wales. Some represent populations of fewer than 200 people, others populations of over 45,000 people; but they all work to improve the quality of life and environment for citizens in their area.

Community and town councils are accountable to local people and have a duty to represent the interests of the different parts of the community equally.

About 8,000 people in Wales give voluntary service as community and town councillors. For some, this work is the first step towards political careers at higher levels in local or national government.

The Blaenau Gwent Town and Community Councils are:

Tredegar Town Council:

Nantyglo & Blaina Town Council:

Abertillery & Llanhilleth Community Council:

Brynmawr Town Council: