Senedd Cymru Elections

The next  Senedd Cymru Elections will be held on Thursday 6th May 2021.

Elections for the Senedd Cymru/Welsh Parliament take place every five years.

There are 60 elected Members of the Senedd (MSs) and you are represented by 5 of them. One MS represents your Senedd constituency (Blaenau Gwent) and the other four all represent your region (South Wales East).

The Senedd Cymru/Welsh Parliament represents the people of Wales. It has the power to make decisions in the following areas:

• agriculture, fisheries, forestry, and rural development
• ancient monuments and historic buildings
• culture
• economic development
• education and training
• the environment
• fire and rescue services
• health and health services
• highways and transport
• housing
• local government
• public administration
• social welfare
• sport and recreation
• tourism
• town and country planning
• water and flood defence
• the Welsh language

The Senedd Cymru/Welsh Parliament can make laws in these areas, known as Parliament Bills. These laws are unique to Wales and will reflect the specific needs and concerns of people in Wales.

The UK Government retains control of certain public services and areas of legislation, such as responsibilities for the police service, social security and employment.

When you vote in the Senedd Cymru/Welsh Parliament election you have two votes – one to elect your constituency member and one to elect your regional member:

Senedd Cymru – Constituency: Blaenau Gwent

In the constituency ballot, you choose the candidate you want to represent you directly.

This Constituency follows the boundary of the County of Blaenau Gwent.

Senedd Cymru – Regional: South Wales East

In the regional ballot, you choose from a list of party or independent candidates to represent your region i.e. you do not vote for an individual candidate.

The South Wales East Region includes the following Constituencies:

Blaenau Gwent
Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney
Newport East
Newport West

Blaenau Gwent County Borough Council is the lead authority for the region – the Regional Returning Officer (RRO).

Each local authority will count their own votes and provide these to the Blaenau Gwent RRO. Once all the results are collated, the RRO will declare who has been elected for the South Wales East Region and the result will be published on this website. This will be on Friday, 7th May 2021.

Related Documents

Registering To Vote

Candidate And Agents Information

Contact Information

Electoral Services

Telephone Number:  01495 355086/88
The General Offices, Steelworks Road, Ebbw Vale NP23 6DN
Email Address: