Scrutiny Committee

Scrutiny ensures transparency in the democratic process by providing an independent and impartial way in which decisions are taken for the Council and the public.  The Scrutiny function includes a wide range of members across all political parties and geographical wards to bring wider experience and views to the Council’s policy development and service improvement activities.

It is an equal and critical part of the decision making process, and is vital in maintaining public confidence. Scrutiny Committees cannot make decisions on behalf of the Council but they can ensure that those that do so, are making robust decisions in the right way.

Each year a forward work programme is developed for each of the Council’s Scrutiny Committee.   Blaenau Gwent currently has four Scrutiny Committees:

  • Corporate Overview Scrutiny Committee
  • Environment, Regeneration & Economic Development Scrutiny Committee
  • Education & Learning Scrutiny Committee
  • Social Services Scrutiny Committee

Scrutiny/Regulatory Committees 2017-2018

Chair & Vice-Chair Corporate Overview Scrutiny Committee 

Chair: Councillor L. Elias

Vice-Chair: Councillor M. Cook

Chair & Vice-Chair Social Services Scrutiny Committee 

Chair: Councillor S. C. Thomas

Vice-Chair: Councillor J. Holt

Chair & Vice-Chair Education & Learning Scrutiny Committee 

Chair: Councillor H. Trollope

Vice-Chair: Councillor J. Collins

Chair & Vice-Chair Environment, Regeneration & Economic Development Scrutiny Committee

Chair: Councillor M. Holland

Vice-Chair: Councillor P. Edwards

Chair & Vice-Chair Planning Committee 

Chair: Councillor D. Hancock

Vice-Chair: Councillor M. Moore

Chair & Vice-Chair General Licensing Committee 

Chair: Councillor W. Hodgins

Vice-Chair: Councillor J. Wilkins

Chair & Vice-Chair Democratic Services Committee 

Chair: Councillor H. McCarthy

Vice-Chair: Councillor Jen Morgan 

Chair and Vice Chair Audit Committee


Vice Chair: Councillor L. Elias

The latest reports and agendas for all of the Council’s Scrutiny Committees are available to download.

Related Documents