Scrutiny Committee

Scrutiny ensures transparency in the democratic process by providing an independent and impartial way in which decisions are taken for the Council and the public.  The Scrutiny function includes a wide range of members across all political parties and geographical wards to bring wider experience and views to the Council’s policy development and service improvement activities.

It is an equal and critical part of the decision making process, and is vital in maintaining public confidence. Scrutiny Committees cannot make decisions on behalf of the Council but they can ensure that those that do so, are making robust decisions in the right way.

Each year a forward work programme is developed for each of the Council’s Scrutiny Committee.   Blaenau Gwent currently has four Scrutiny Committees:

  • Corporate Overview
  • Education, Active Living and Learning
  • Social Services
  • Environment, Economy and Infrastructure

Scrutiny/Regulatory Committees 2016-2017

Chair & Vice-Chair Corporate Overview Scrutiny Committee 

Chair: Councillor M. Cross

Vice-Chair: Councillor L. Winnett 

Chair & Vice-Chair Social Services Scrutiny Committee 

Chair: Councillor N. Daniels

Vice-Chair: Councillor B. Pagett 

Chair & Vice-Chair Education & Active Living Scrutiny Committee 

Chair: Councillor John Morgan

Vice-Chair: Councillor P. Baldwin 

Chair & Vice-Chair Economy, Environment & Infrastructure Scrutiny Committee 

Chair: Councillor M. Dally

Vice-Chair: Councillor B. Scully 

Chair & Vice-Chair Planning Committee 

Chair: Councillor D. Owens

Vice-Chair: Councillor Jen Morgan 

Chair & Vice-Chair General Licensing Committee 

Chair: Councillor D. Rowberry

Vice-Chair: Councillor M. Bartlett 

Chair & Vice-Chair Democratic Services Committee 

Chair: Councillor G. Collier

Vice-Chair: Councillor Jen Morgan 

Chair and Vice Chair Audit Committee


Vice Chair: Councillor M. Cross 

The latest reports and agendas for all of the Council’s Scrutiny Committees are available to download.

Related Documents